Food Journal

May 3, 2007

The Interview Meme

Filed under: Memes — Heather @ 10:57 pm

There’s a meme making its way around the blogosphere and I am a bit of a meme whore so I couldn’t keep myself from jumping on the bandwagon. Plus, this is an interview meme and I saw it on aka_Monty’s site and, I gotta tell ya, I lurve aka_Monty and any opportunity to be interviewed by her is not to be missed. I’m just sayin’.

The rules say that if you want to be interviewed by me, just leave a comment saying that you want to be interviewed. I’ll be gentle. I promise.

Without further ado, here are my questions from aka_Monty:

1. This question is actually a cheat, because it’s a 3-in-1. If you
were a superhero, what would your name be? And your super-power(s)?
And what would your costume look like?

My superhero name? Though unimaginative and totally stolen from The Incredibles, I think I would go with Elastigirl. The reason? Women have to stretch so much to be everything to everyone, all the time. Wife, Mother, Lover, Daughter, Friend, Employee, Sister . . . the list goes on and on.

If I could choose any superpower, I think I’d like to be able to travel through time. Not to change anything, though. Just to be able to go back and relive some of those moments that were too short and sweet.

My costume would magically shape my figure back into its 20 year old form. Except for the boobs. I want the boobs I have now. It would be black, it would be comfortable, and it would not do any of the things that clothes do that make me crazy, like feel like it is falling off after an hour of wearing it or bunch up or be too high in the neck/chest area making me feel like I can’t breathe. Oh yeah, and even though it would look really hot? It would feel like wearing my most comfortable pair of pajamas. Oh yeah.

2. If you could go back in time to your 19-year-old self, what advice
would you give you?

I screwed so many things up when I was 19 that it is really and truly difficult to decide which piece of advice I needed the most. But after much thought, I have decided that what I needed to hear the most is: Be kind to yourself.

3. Let’s say you have leprosy and are being exiled to a deserted
island (don’t you HATE the deserted island question? But I told you I
wasn’t very creative)…you’re told that you can bring a lifetime
supply of books OR a lifetime supply of music.
Which do you choose, and why?

OK. This is hard. Not hard to choose. ‘Cause I would definitely choose the books. But what’s hard is that I have that old Twilight Zone episode playing in my head where the guy who loves to read is the only one who survives a bomb and he is alllll happy that he will be able to read in peace but then he drops his glasses and they break and he realizes he has to live out eternity without reading and he, like, totally has a breakdown. Ya know? So, like, I choose the books with the caveat that it is totally not fair to strike me blind or anything like that. Mkay? (Don’t ask about the valley girl slang. I have no idea.)

And the reason I would choose books instead of music is because I have never felt alone so long as I had a book to read. It would be like having an island full of friends. I love music, but I know how to sing and have memorized enough songs that I would never lack for music. But life without a steady stream of marvelous, wacky, quirky, sultry, sensual, neurotic characters who are just waiting to open themselves up to me via the pages of a book? Is not worth living.

4. What would you consider to be your worst habit(s)?

My tendency to over-analyze. I mess things up all the time because I can’t stop analyzing.

5. And finally…we’ve been reading each other for quite a long while
now, and often I think you live in my head. If you could give me one
piece of sage advice that you’ve just been DYING to tell me, what
would it be? (Now’s your opportunity–let it all hang out!)

Yes, we have been reading each other for a while now and I am floored sometimes by how similar our thought processes work. I actually can’t remember how we “met.” Can you?

As far as sage advice, I am not sure you need it. I am always inspired by you. Did you know that? You have had more than your fair share of heart break and I would totally not last a week in your shoes ’cause I am a big ol’ wimp. But you! You are strong, and wise, and smart, and warm, and compassionate and, well, just awesome in general.

But since you are right about you and I being so much alike, I think the one piece of sage advice you need is the same advice I needed at 19: Be kind to yourself, my dear.

***************

Thank you, Monty, for interviewing me! It was fun. Any of you who wish to be interviewed, just say the word.

And because this was painless and easy and because I haven’t opened the forum for questions in a while, if anyone else has a question they’d like for me to answer, just leave it in the comments or e-mail me at nurseblogger[at]yahoo[dot]com.

Thank you and Good Night.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.