Food Journal

July 5, 2004

Camping Trip

Filed under: Married With Children — Heather @ 10:32 pm

I am not exactly an outdoorsy type of girl. I actually enjoy rock-climbing, swimming in natural springs, hiking, etc. as long as I can go home to a toilet, a shower and a soft bed at the end of the day. But when you have two boys and a husband, there is a time you must admit that the testosterone:estrogen imbalance in the household mandates a yearly camping trip. So–I went camping. Don’t get me wrong– I enjoyed the time with Brad and the boys. I loved it that we did not have a telephone, computer, or TV for two whole days so we got to really spend time as a family. I had fun swimming, hiking, rock-climbing and makings smores. I did not, however, enjoy setting up camp and then having to move the whole camp in the rain because we had pitched our tent right in the middle of a flood zone. I did not enjoy not having access to a bathroom once the park had closed forthe evening. And I did not enjoy smelling like a combination of bug spray, body odor, and campfire smoke for two days. All in all, the good outweighed the bad and we had a great time. We even went to Carlsbad caverns and the boys really enjoyed that. But I was ever so happy to get back to a real house with a real shower and a real toilet and a real bed! We got some really cute pictures too. Every one should be getting a link to them soon!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.